Like Finds Like

 

Where it Hurts - Lang Leav

@langleav

Browsing through Instagram today, I stumbled upon a post of a poem that puts what I’ve been feeling into beautifully expressed words. I love when I find these gems because it makes me feel a little bit less alone. A little bit less foreign; as if I’m not the only one who passes through the day with a melancholy fog wrapped around my shoulders.

When I happened to pick up a poetry book at the store last year, I didn’t expect the words Lang Leav wrote to wrap around my heart and give a tight squeeze of familiarity. One that compelled me to pick up that first book, followed by the next, and the next, and then the one after that. I guess it’s fitting though because a lot of her work is infused in melancholic flavors that very much resonate with my personality.

If you haven’t already, I’d recommend you pick up one of her poetry books and give it a read. Maybe it’s for you or maybe it’s really not, but you never know when you might discover the next big (or little) thing to add to your bookshelf.


Today has been okay. It wasn’t as hard to get through as yesterday, when it felt like the hours just wouldn’t flow away. On a scale out of five, with five being the most difficult, today would be a two. It was a good day.

x Nadya

Mood Song:

The Greatest Showman

Leave a comment